Yarn Notes: Viola

I have THIS beautiful yarn.  Hand-dyed, 100% superwash merino by Viola.  Some of you will know that this is now a rare commodity since Emily of Viola is no longer dyeing yarn (hopefully she will return from England someday and break out the big vat again…she is lovely btw and I wish her all the best).

viola 4

Some of you will also recognize that this is colourway ‘Ghost’.

Viola 1

I have eight skeins….1328 metres.

viola 2

What to knit??  Here are some of the patterns floating around in my head:  Stranger Cardigan (Michiyo  for Wool People 4/Brooklyn Tweed),  Chocolate Stout (Thea Colman), Stonecutters Cardigan (Amy Christoffers).

Check them out on Ravelry…what do you think?

7 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Yarn Notes

7 responses to “Yarn Notes: Viola

  1. Beautiful yarn! I think I’d go for Stonecutter’s – it should work great to show off the subtle beauty of that colorway.

  2. I have to agree with the majority so far. I like the classic look of stonecutters. I think the repeats of the cables would look really nice with the dappling of the ghost.
    ps yarn envy

  3. Syd

    I enjoy the name and color of this yarn, subtle, but very pretty 🙂

  4. Jenny

    I have to agree with everyone and go with the stonecutters – good shape and great cables. I think it’ll look amazing in Ghost!

  5. Patti

    One more vote for the Stonecutter!

Leave a Reply

