Object of My Affection

Well…. I was feeling as if I was the only one in the knitting world who hadn’t made a “Color Affection” by Finnish Designer Veera Valimaki.

Okay,  maybe there are others like me, but according to Ravelry, 8,036 people have made one.  That equals a lot of “Color Affection”  shawls out there.

I really admire the streamlined design – a lovely crescent shaped shawl using three contrasting colours – a modern take on an old favourite.

And then Jenny, my dear friend, gave me these beautiful mittens for Christmas.

mittens

Jenny knit them for me from one of our favourite yarns:  Malabrigo Arroyo, a kettle-dyed 100% Merino superwash sport weight yarn made in Peru.  She combined  “Glitter”,one of my favourite colourways, with  Escorias and Natural.  (I adore the pom poms).

I was instantly inspired and I could see the possibilities of this colour combination for the elusive “Color Affection”.

So, grabbing a skein in each colourway,  I made this:

2.

I’ve hardly taken it off….except to take these photos.

3.

I LOVE it.  So now 8,037 people have made one.  And my mother has already placed her order….in her favourite colours of ‘blue’.

1.

6 Comments

Filed under Favourites, Knitting, Yarn, Yarn Notes

6 responses to “Object of My Affection

  1. Jenny

    It turned out amazing! I may have to make the 8308th colour affection in arroyo..Hmmm gotta go pick colours!

  2. ixony

    This is such a gorgeous colour combination — fresh and classic at the same time. I just love it! Brava!

Leave a Reply

